Saturday, May 30, 2009

Troopers of the Year Named

Dewaine Jennings has been named 2008 Trooper of the Year for the Cookeville District of the Tennessee Highway Patrol. He was among several officers honored at a ceremony in Nashville last week. Trooper Jennings is a member of the Strike Team and assists with the Field Training Officer Program, where officials say he leads by example everyday. They say Jennings’ enforcement activity was also top in every category in the District. Meanwhile, Michael Williams was named as Trooper of the year for 2007. Officials say he was selected for his outstanding work and dedication to the department. In 2007, he made 39 DUI arrests and 33 felony arrests. That year, Trooper Williams also made the arrest of a Brink’s Armored Carrier robbery suspect and recovered more than $110,000 in stolen money.