Thursday, August 19, 2010

Swallows Appointed New Mayor Of Cookeville

The five newest members of the Cookeville city council were sworn in Thursday evening by Judge John Maddux. As is tradition, their first item of business was the appointment of a mayor. Council members unanimously appointed top vote getter Matt Swallows to the mayor's position. Larry Epps, who was the second highest vote getter in the election this month, was then appointed vice mayor. The new council also passed resolutions honoring the outgoing members of the council, which include Ryan Williams, Ricky Shelton, Sam Sallee and Jean Davis. Meanwhile, David Webb was announced as the mayor's appointment to the city planning commission, and Jim Woodford was appointed as the council's representative on that body. The council also voted to change the times of their monthly meetings. They had been held at 6 pm on the first and third Thursdays, but will -- in the future -- be held at 5:30 in the evening. City manager said he made the request to make it more convenient for the staff and the council to handle the city's business and still make it home in time for dinner.