Tuesday, April 19, 2011

TTU Baja Team Brings Home First Place

Tennessee Tech University's BajaSAE team gave opponents mud in their eyes and brought home first place in last weekend's competition in Birmingham, defeating teams including Auburn, Alabama, University of Tennessee, Virginia Tech, Middle Tennessee State University and Lipscomb University. The team also took first place in the endurance race, second in water maneuverability and third in acceleration. Led by co-captains Amy Newton and Bob Matthews, along with lead designer Chris Reedy, TTU's team captured the  title on what is considered BajaSAE's toughest competition of the year because of the additional challenges the water element presents. Other team members include lead fabricator Jed Peterson, Alex Hall, John Till, Josh Cantrell, Justin Seyer, Kendall Hall, Logan Atkins, Michael Henson, Ryan DeClerk, Sam Keener, Thad Kasinger, Derek Harrington, David Tyrell Laxton, Josh Randles, Brooke Wilson, Amos Myers and Wes Lentz. Dale Wilson is the team adviser.